Posted April 2, 2017
Press Release
Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations

Matthew Strawn of Washington State University Named Winner of the AASRO John Tarnai Memorial Scholarship

Matthew Strawn of the Washington State University Social and Economic Sciences Research Center (SESRC) has been awarded the 2017 John Tarnai Memorial Scholarship by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO). The award provides a scholarship in memory of John Tarnai, former AASRO president, and recognizes an outstanding but relatively new Survey Center employee with great promise for pursuing a long-term career in survey research.

For more information, please visit,


Posted March 23, 2017
Press Release
For Immediate Release
American Association for Public Opinion Research

2017 Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award

Don A. Dillman, Washington State University, Leah Melani Christian, Nielsen, Michelle Edwards, Texas Christian University, Benjamin Messer, Research-Into-Action, Morgan M. Millar, University of Utah and Jolene D. Smyth, University of Nebraska for web-push data collection methodology that uses postal mail contacts to request a web response while withholding alternative response modes until later in the data collection process.  Their methodology is now being used by the U.S. Census Bureau and in many countries to conduct major surveys relevant to public policy decisions. 

The Warren J. Mitofsky Innovators Award recognizes accomplishments in the fields of public opinion and survey research that occurred in the past ten years or that had their primary impact on the field during the past decade. The innovations could consist of new theories, ideas, applications, methodologies or technologies. To be considered for the award, innovations must be publicly documented. The award can be given to individuals, groups or institutions.

For more information, please visit,